In the state of California, provisional license holders will have restrictions for the first year. During the first year, teen drivers are not allowed to: 

•    Drive between 11 p.m. and 5 a.m.
•    Allow passengers under the age of 20 in the car with them

If driving between 11 p.m. and 5 a.m. is necessary or if passengers under the age of 20 are present in the car, the driver must be accompanied by a parent or guardian, a licensed driver over the age of 25, or a licensed driving instructor. 
The California Department of Motor Vehicles lists the exceptions to these restrictions below, when reasonable transportation is not available. In addition, the teen driver must carry a note at all times, which explains the necessity and the date when the necessity will end. This rule does not apply to emancipated minors.

•    Medical necessity when reasonable transportation alternatives are unavailable. The note must be signed by the physician containing the diagnosis and probable date of recovery
•    Schooling or school-authorized activity. The note must be signed by your school principal, dean, or his/her designee
•    Employment necessity and the need to operate a vehicle as part of your employment. The note must be signed by your employer verifying employment.
•    Your necessity or the necessity of an immediate family member. The note must be signed by your parent or legal guardian
•    If you are an emancipated minor. No documentation is needed. However, you must have already declared yourself emancipated and provided DMV with
•    Proof of Financial Responsibility (SR 1P) in lieu of the parent’s or guarantors’ signatures

The California DMV monitors all minor drivers closely. If you:

•    Get a traffic ticket and fail to appear in court, your driving privileges will be suspended until you appear in court
•    Get a traffic ticket and neglect to pay the fine, your driving privileges will be suspended until you pay the fine or get in an Orlando car accident
•    Have one “at fault” accident or conviction within 1 year, you will receive a warning letter from the DMV
•    Have a second “at fault” accident or conviction (or combination of both) within 1 year, your driving privileges will be suspended for 30 days. You will be allowed to drive with a parent or other licensed adult (25 years or older) during the 30-day period
•    Have a third “at fault” accident or conviction (or any combination) within 1 year, your driving privileges will be suspended for 6 months and you will be placed on probation for a minimum of 1 year
•    Have additional “at fault” accidents or point count convictions while on probation, your driving privileges will be suspended again

•    All teen traffic violations are reported to the DMV and will remain on your record for a period of time to be determined by the courts. In some cases, these violations can become a part of your permanent record

More than 5,000 teens die in car accidents each year across the U.S. Of the 5,000 teen fatalities each year, the state of California accounts for 400. Based on these figures, the state of California has one of the highest teen accident fatality rates in the country for teen’s ages 16-17. In response to these disturbing figures, California pioneered the Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) program when it passed its first law in 1997. With higher standards and stricter requirements, California’s Graduated Driver Licensing is like no other. Continue reading to learn more about California’s innovative teen driving laws and the serious consequences for violating them. 

California Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) and Driver License Requirements

Under California’s Graduated Driver Licensing, teens ages 15 ½ to 17 ½ teens must:

•    Apply for and carry a provisional learner’s permit for 6 months
•    Complete 6 hours of professional driver training
•    Complete an approved driver education class
•    Complete 50 practice driving hours with a parent or guardian or an individual that is 25 years of age or older
•    Apply for a provisional driver’s license

Once the teen has completed the steps above, he will receive an interim license. The interim license is good for 60 days. Within the 60 days, if your provisional application is approved (meaning you have passed all tests and met all requirements), you will receive a provisional license in the mail. The provisional license has several restrictions that expire on the driver’s 18th birthday if he has maintained a clean driving record. Please continue to the next section to read about provisional license restrictions. 

To apply for a permits and licenses in the state of California, you must provide the following to Davidovich Law Firm

•    If under the age of 18, the parent or guardian must give written consent
•    Social Security card or proof of Social Security number 
•    Photo ID 
•    Birth certificate
•    Proof of legal residence
•    Application fee of $28 (check, cash, money order, ATM/debit card)

In the state of California, driving while under the influence of alcohol or drugs is a serious offense. All DUI penalties in California include interlock and the assessments, fees, and fines could cost you thousands of dollars. California also has a zero tolerance law for DUI as a teen. Even if a police officer smells alcohol on your breath, you will be charged with a DUI. 

What is the blood alcohol concentration level (BAC) limit in the state of California?

In the state of California, it is a crime to operate a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration level (BAC) of 0.08% or higher. Sentence enhancements exist for cases involving a BAC of 0.15% or higher. 

In the state of California what is the administrative license suspension period for a first offense?

In the state of California, if you get arrested for DUI, the administrative license suspension time for a first offense is 4 months. Under administrative license suspension, the drivers’ license will be taken before conviction when he either fails or refuses to be tested for alcohol or drugs. During the 4 month revocation period, the driver may obtain a limited license, according to Bratton Law

In the state of California, what are the penalties for a first DUI offense? Second offense?


In the state of California, all penalties include interlock. For a first DUI offense, you will spend four hours in jail and 4 months without a license. You will have to do 2 days community service, take a 15 week DUI class, spend 3 years on probation, and 7 years with two points on your driving record. Assessments, fees, and fines will total $5,300. For a second DUI offense, you will have mandatory jail time of 10 days to one year on jail along with an 18-month license suspension. You will have to enroll in a 18-30 month alcohol/drug program, you will spend 48 hours to one year in jail. You will have to drive on a work restricted license for the length of the alcohol/drug program. An interlocking device will be installed on your vehicle for 18 months. 

For a third offense, your license will be suspended for 3 years and you will have to enroll in an 18-month alcohol/drug program — if you have not taken one before. A third offense also carries a mandatory jail sentence of 120 days to a year. Sentence enhancement laws will apply if you were driving 20 mph over the speed limit, if a child under 14 was in the car at the time of the offense, if you refuse to submit to chemical testing, and if you had a prior conviction within the last 10 years.

Figuring out how to stay away from probate can spare beneficiaries’ time and cash, anticipate family question, and permit simple exchange of legacy property upon death. Numerous individuals are not in any case comfortable with probate not to mention how to keep it from happening. Probate is required inside all conditions of the U.S. to guarantee decedent bequests are settled by legacy laws. It is a tedious procedure that can take a while to finish.

Getting to be taught about how to maintain a strategic distance from probate is as basic as leading exploration on the Internet or counseling with a family law lawyer or bequest organizer. Numerous banks, credit associations, and monetary guides offer domain arranging administrations for an ostensible expense.

The best way to totally keep away from the probate procedure is to move resources into a trust. Be that as it may, trusts are commonly saved for people with resources esteemed over $100,000. People with littler domains can take measures to shield certain benefits from experiencing the probate procedure.

A standout amongst the most critical parts of domain arranging is executing a last will and confirmation, alongside human services mandates and assigning Power of Attorney rights. POA enables a man to settle on choices for your sake in the event that you are weakened and unfit to settle on imperative choices. Intensity of lawyer rights additionally enable people to pay bills from your financial records, exchange titled property, and settle on lawful choices. Hence, the individual allowed these forces ought to be somebody whom can be trusted to settle on choices dependent on your best advantages.

Medicinal services orders enable you to state what sort of restorative consideration you do or don’t need. These can incorporate being put in a coma, accepting wholesome help, organ gift, and don’t rescesitate orders.

The Will is utilized to assign a bequest overseer to deal with all aspects of home administration. Required obligations shift contingent upon bequest esteem, legacy property, and relational intricacies. Little probated domains can settle in three to a half year. On the off chance that beneficiaries challenge the Will, bequest settlement can be drawn out until lawyers can work out worthy understandings. Legitimate charges from challenged Wills regularly bankrupt homes and leave nothing for beneficiaries to acquire.

On the off chance that individuals bite the dust without executing a legitimate will, the probate procedure takes longer. A bequest manager must be delegated through the court and extra work is required to find beneficiaries, stock property, and different subtleties which are typically incorporated into the last will.

People who hold ledgers, retirement accounts, money related portfolios, and extra security strategies can dole out recipients to get continues upon death. Recipient structures can be acquired through the monetary foundation where the record is held. Record holders can relegate numerous recipients and express the level of assets they will get.

Recipients must comply with each budgetary foundation’s approach in regards to circulation of legacy reserves. Most states expect recipients to submit date-of-death esteem structures to the region charge assessor’s office. For whatever length of time that decedents are present with expenses, the Assessor’s off will stamp the shape so continues can be conveyed.

Titled property can be kept out of probate by building up joint proprietorship. At the point when land or engine vehicles have joint titles, the property naturally exchanges to the co-proprietor. At the point when joint possession is with a man other than your life partner, you may need to set up Joint Tenancy with Rights of Survivorship.

A lesser realized approach to maintain a strategic distance from probate is through gifting legacy property while you’re as yet alive. The Internal Revenue Service permits gifting up to $12,000 per individual or $20,000 per wedded couple every year. On the off chance that gifting limits surpass greatest dimension, beneficiaries are required to record a government blessing assessment form and cover fitting legacy regulatory expenses.

Actualizing methodologies to maintain a strategic distance from probate is extraordinary compared to other blessings you can leave friends and family. Despite how little or the amount you claim, it is critical to put your undertakings all together and execute a last will. Probate is certainly not a fun procedure, so take measures to secure legacy property and limit the time required to settle your domain. For all things related to elder law, speak with a medicaid planning attorney.

When Nicholas Coble was arrested for drunk driving following a March 2009 car accident, he denied that he had been drinking and refused to submit to a breath test. Under Missouri law, refusing the mandatory test means that the defendant’s driver’s license is automatically revoked. Coble challenged the license revocation in court on the grounds that his arrest was illegal, and a trial court agreed, reinstating his license. However, an appellate court recently reversed the lower court’s decision and re-revoked Coble’s driver’s license.

Coble’s trouble began in 2009, when he drove his car into a ditch on the side of the road after a day of fishing. According to police reports, officers could smell alcohol on Coble’s breath. He was arrested after he allegedly failed multiple field sobriety tests.

During his first trial against the Missouri Department of Revenue, Coble argued that he had been arrested in violation of a Missouri law requiring a DUI arrest to be made within 90 minutes of the violation. The state was unable to present evidence of the time of Coble’s car accident, and therefore could not prove that the arrest had occurred within the 90 minute period. The trial court agreed, ruling that the arrest was illegal, and that his license could therefore not be revoked.

The state appealed, arguing that Missouri law required only that the driver be arrested, and not that the arrest be a legal one. The appellate court agreed with the state, ruling that the law merely requires an arrest based on reasonable suspicion and a subsequent breath test refusal by the driver. Coble’s license was then re-revoked.

This has serious implications for any driver arrested for driving under the influence of alcohol. Whether or not the arrest occurs legally, the driver must submit to a breath test or face revocation of their driver’s license. It will be interesting to see if this decision is overturned in the future. If you are involved in a situations similar to this, contact Monroe car accident lawyers.

Radley Balko, a senior editor at Reason Magazine, recently wrote an article in which he called for the abolition of DUI laws across the United States. While he notes that the idea “sounds radical at first blush,” the reasons he presents for doing so are undeniably thought provoking. We present them here.

First, the idea behind a precise measurement of drunk behavior – i.e., 0.08 – is arbitrary and illogical. People react differently to alcohol. Moreover, impairment also depends on other variables, such as medications a person is taking, whether he or she is sleep deprived, whether the motorist is agitated or enraged for reasons having nothing to do with alcohol, and so forth.
Second, Balko points to enforcement tools, such as sobriety checkpoints, as being ineffectual. He notes that, interestingly, alcohol-related fatalities across the country actually increased following the nationwide 0.08 standard that took effect in 2000, reversing a 20-year trend. The reason why, he posits, is that because people with a BAC under .10 – the older standard – don’t typically drive erratically enough to be noticed by cops. Police thus began instituting checkpoints – now lawful in 37 states – to catch them. In doing so, police departments commonly commit substantial resources, which brings forth this comment from Balko: “Every cop manning a roadblock … is a cop not on the highways looking for more seriously impaired motorists.”

One DUI expert calls checkpoints “the drunk driving exception to the Constitution,” with an officer’s right to immediately suspend a driver’s license for refusal to take a breath test representing a strong exception to an individual’s 5th Amendment right against self-incrimination.

Third, the focus is simply wrong when it is on the drinking per se and not on impairment. It ignores what numerous studies are now telling us, that other driving behaviors can be just as dangerous as drinking and driving – and sometimes more dangerous. As a motorist, would you rather be driving beside a person who had one drink shortly before or a motorist who is busily engaged in texting? Or shouting at his or her kids in the car? Or playing with a pet?

Balko’s point is this: Punish reckless driving, whether it is caused by talking on a cell phone, eating, changing a CD, having a bad day – or drinking. That will put the focus back on where it belongs – the impairment. It will also “repair some of the civil-liberties damage done by the invasive powers the government says it needs to catch and convict drunk drivers.”

Last, it will add needed consistency to our laws, which Balko says “treat a driver with a BAC of 0.08 much more harshly than a driver distracted by his kids or a cell phone, despite similar levels of impairment.”

If you find yourself at the mercy of an impaired driver, be sure to contact a Tucson car wreck lawyer.

In a recent post, we talked about the tragic bus accident that occurred on the New Jersey Turnpike and killed two people, including the driver, and injured 40 others. This accident came shortly after another “Chinatown bus” crash resulted in the wrongful death of 15 people, causing many to wonder why these crashes have become so frequent.

According to a report from the U.S. Department of Transportation with help from Shreveport semi-truck accident lawyers, Super Luxury Tours, the company whose bus crashed on the Turnpike, has one of the worst safety records in the nation. In fact, the report shows that the company is worse than 99.6 percent of all bus companies in the U.S.

The report showed that the company’s drivers have a history of safety violations and other mishaps that put riders in danger. In the past two years, drivers had six citations for speeding and three for not obeying traffic signals. The report also showed that the company’s 16 drivers were involved in four accidents. Two of those accidents resulted in injuries. The report also stated that some drivers had difficulty understanding some basic English commands.

Despite an extremely poor record, the bus company continues to transport passengers between East Coast cities at budget prices. The company totaled over 2.2 million miles of driving last year.

The New Jersey bus accident and others that have occurred recently show how important it is that bus companies properly maintain their vehicles and train their drivers to be as safe as possible. Each person that rides one of these buses puts his or her life in the hands of the driver, making it extremely important that drivers understand traffic rules and consistently obey them.

Construction accidents can leave a worker seriously injured and possibly unable to continue working. There are many potential causes of construction accidents and many accidents in California are the result of an employer’s failure to take the appropriate measures to ensure that a workplace is safe. Often employers are aware of the federal safety regulations but choose to ignore these guidelines to increase their profit margins at their employees’ expense.

One construction company was recently fined by the U.S. Department of Labor’s Occupational Safety and Health Administration for maintaining an extremely dangerous worksite that contained several serious workplace safety violations. Unfortunately this company’s safety violations are not unique and many construction workers are injured before OSHA inspectors became involved.

The violations were found at a construction site for a bridge project and included serious fall hazards. OSHA has increased its inspection of similar construction sites throughout the country because of the high-hazard nature of the construction industry.

OSHA inspectors at the construction site also found that the bidirectional machines at the site did not have working horns to warn workers. High-visibility materials did not mark the top rails of a guardrail system at the site and machines had deficient lockout/tagout systems. This means that the machines could have experienced unexpected startups that injured others.

“The construction industry continues to remain one of the most dangerous, and heavy highway and bridge work entails a variety of unique hazards,” said Lisa Levy, an OSHA office director. “The company needs to ensure that violations of this nature are not repeated.”

The total penalties and fines against the company were $41,580. For more information contact a credit card lawsuit attorney in Naperville.

Think about once the insurance provider returns by having an offer:

Is that this enough cash to pay for all medical costs that are potential?

Does this completely pay me for the salaries I’ve skipped because of my accidents?

Does this quantity consider even the pressure placed on my loved ones or suffering and my discomfort?

You’ve been with this particular incident through a great deal. You what we’re likely to work toward for you, and deserve to become completely paid.

Excellent women and men who struggled for that privileges of each National who arrived after them constructed your nation. We benefit from the liberties we do due to their compromise nowadays. But when these were living today, they’d tell the battle wasn’t probably the most challenging section of their innovation to you. Standing was.

You observe, every battle for justice demands somebody standing for somebody who is reluctant to back. Exactly the same holds true for injury situations. You’ve a great deal at shed if you’ve been hurt in a vehicle accident, and also all of the cards are held by the insurance provider. They’ll know what your accidents are worth centered on their pursuits, & most frequently that quantity won’t actually be near should you allow them. You’ve could not feel just like you’ve any fight and experienced a great deal currently. However, you don’t need to combat. All you’ve got to complete is operate .

It’s the long-day at work’s conclusion. You move onto the practice, nervous to obtain property for your household. You’ve obtained this journey countless occasions without event, but that all is going to change.

In Northern California, a commuter train derailed on March 7, injuring eight individuals. The ensuing and effect debris was therefore severe that the Alameda County Sheriff Office representative stated it had been “a complete wonder that no body was killed.” that truth is small convenience to people who were significantly hurt within the event Though we’re grateful no body was murdered. The toughest component is simply starting, making a large amount of unfamiliar concerns to them.

Your costs won’t finish together with your hospital stay; who’s likely to purchase therapy that is continuing? You’re not likely to be able as you 17recover to function; who’s likely to pay you for missing earnings? You’ve been existence, through a disturbing -changing occasion; who ought to be held accountable for suffering and your discomfort?

There’s a term available used-to strike a tax law firm named “jackpot justice.” wrapped-up in these two phrases really are a sponsor of allegations targeted at the profession itself. The expression describes the intended greed by benefiting from the appropriate process of incident patients and attorneys seeking to money in on sad occasions. Individuals offering that expression will often have illustrations their sleeves up jackpot justice and to prove lawsuits really are a genuine issue within our court program. The main situation they indicate may be the McDonald’s warm coffee suit, where a lady charged the junk food organization for thousands and built hot caffeine on himself.

According to the Brain Injury Association of Oregon, about 20,000 state residents suffer a brain injury every year. The national number is about 1.7 million. In the active military, more than 9,800 traumatic brain injuries were reported in the first quarter of 2011, more than 31,000 during 2010.
A new study says these TBI victims are twice as likely to develop dementia as people without TBI.
The researchers looked at medical records of about 300,000 war veterans age 55 or older who did not have dementia at the beginning of the study period. From those records, they identified about 6,000 — 2 percent — who had suffered a TBI, and are losing employment because of it as well. The records included initial inpatient or outpatient visits and follow-up visits, allowing the researchers to track the progress of the veterans.
TBI patients showed a 15 percent risk of developing dementia later in life. Non-TBI patients had just a 7 percent risk.
The link between dementia and TBI has been suspected for some time. By quantifying the risk in this study, researchers hope to encourage additional study of early interventions on the long-term cognitive health of patients.
One reason TBI is so often in the news — and research is so often funded — is the number of military personnel who have suffered head injuries in Iraq and Afghanistan. Almost a quarter of all injuries in those theaters are TBIs; almost 60 percent of blast-related injuries (including IEDs) are TBIs.
In 2010, about 80 percent of the TBIs were classified as “mild.” It was unclear from reports if the study examined the risk of dementia in patients with different levels of TBI. A Lakeland defense attorney understands medical malpractice laws in addition to many other areas of law.